Colin’s Corner – Week Six!

I wanted to touch back on a topic from last week, that is going online and researching caloric content of food online. One of the best websites that I use for this is Calorie Connect:

http://www.calorieconnect.com/

I find this site very easy to use, and it has a vast database of foods available. While I’m at it, here’s a link to a website that lists various activities, and how many calories you burn when performing them:

http://www.healthstatus.com/cgi-bin/calc/calculator.cgi

There are many, many websites that offer this service – I’m not partial to any one in particular. I try to avoid sites that have a lot of ads.

I have to say, I’m really enjoying writing this blog. It is keeping me focused on my activity levels and food choices. What has happened in this short period of time is that my week by week has naturally developed into a regular routine. I’ve listed my general exercise routine below, along with the number of calories burned beside the activity:

 

Monday a.m. – 30 minutes of cardio 502 calories

Monday p.m. – Hockey approx. 30 minutes 403 calories

Tuesday a.m. – 30 minutes weight training 303 calories

Tuesday p.m. – Gentle Yoga (when possible!) 346 calories

Wednesday – 30 minutes of cardio 502 calories

Thursday a.m. – Power Yoga 515 calories

Friday – 30 minutes cardio and 30 minutes weight training 502 + 303 = 805 calories

So if I look at my weekly calories burned, I’m estimating that I burn in the neighbourhood of 3300 calories. I know that to lose one pound of fat requires 3500 calories to be burned. So, there is a good reason that I am losing on average a pound a week. This is just by staying committed to exercising on average 30 minutes a day!

 

Speaking of 30 minutes a day, Please watch this video, entitled 23 ½ hours. Dr. Mike Evans is a sometimes JCC member and family doctor who practices out of St. Mike’s hospital. He has developed this video lecture on the importance regular activity ( i.e. 30 minutes a day), and the HUGE impact it has on one’s health. The video has gone viral, with over 2 million hits, has been translated into 3 languages (so far), and is being featured on many newscasts across the country. Way to go Mike!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUaInS6HIGo

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

