Colin’s Corner – Week 8!

I’ve recently been turned on to Tabata training. This is a form of circuit training that involves intense work / rest sessions. A typical circuit is only 4 minutes long! Mind you, I don’t usually stop after one circuit. I like to start my workout with one 4 minute circuit, and finish my workout with another. It’s a great way to burn fat, and increase your body’s metabolic rate for up to 48 hours post workout.

First, choose your exercise. Multi joint exercises are best as they recruit the most muscular involvement (the whole idea is to increase oxygen delivery to your muscles). I like to use a dumbbell swing, for example. Next, perform the exercise for 20 seconds, and then rest for 10 seconds. Repeat this 8 times, for a total of 4 minutes. Many proponents of Tabata training claim that doing just this circuit once a day will burn a lot of fat; however, I’ve never felt that doing one 4 minute circuit was quite enough. So, like I said, I do one circuit at the start of my workout, and one at the end. Try it – google Tabata training and see what you find. If you haven’t tried this new form of fitness training, what are you waiting for?! (please exercise safely).

Well, this week is a weigh-in week. Please keep in mind that I have just spent a week on holiday, and that alcohol is very inexpensive inSouth Carolina! I did not gain any weight, I am still at 220lbs, and my body fat went from 22% to 21%. All in all, I am okay with these results. Things are still going in the right direction, and feel good that with this change of weather I’ll be able to make a good healthy push over the last 4 weeks of blogging.

My pearl of wisdom for this week is to drink enough water. We all know we should drink water every day. But, how much? According to this water calculator at about.com, I need to consume 3.4 Litres of water every day! I do my best to drink about half of that. I have a 600mL water bottle at work, and I try to fill it and drink it 3 times a day. This keeps me hydrated, and visiting the men’s room all day long. I borrowed this image from the Mayo Clinic’s website to illustrate the importance of having enough water in your body:

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

