Colin’s Corner

Hello, and welcome to Colin’s Corner, my little section of the MNjcc blog. My name is Colin Blayney, and I have been a personal trainer for 15 years; I have been working in the Fitness Centre of the Miles Nadal JCC for the past seven. It may seem odd to you that a trainer is keeping a “body transformation” fitness blog, but, last year was a busy one, and my lifestyle has slowly crept away from being as healthy as I would like it to be.

It was a year in which I went back to school (twice!), got married, went away on our honeymoon, and basically spent a lot of time sitting at a desk, and a lot of time enjoying life very much. A little too much, it seems.

On my wedding day, June 18, 2011, I was 6’ tall, weighed 205lbs, and I was 18% body fat. At the beginning of this week, I was 224lbs, and 24.5 % body fat. Time for a trimming!

I have chosen to keep a public record of my own fitness journey:

  1. to share my story
  2. to keep myself accountable to the program
  3. to show that we all need a little help and inspiration sometimes (even personal trainers!) and
  4. to encourage anybody who wants to follow along with me.

Over the next 12 weeks, I will be posting updates weekly to share with you my workouts, my food intake, physical changes that are taking place, even some thoughts and feelings along the way.

First off, I have a confession to make. This is my first week blogging, but I started my exercise regime the first week of January 2012. My New Year’s resolution was to get back to my yoga practice that has been shelved for far too long now. My objective is to attend two yoga classes per week. This being the first full week of February, I have managed to average 1.5 classes per week (and I’m feeling great for it).

One of the things about exercising where you work is… something always comes up! I empathize with all of you who are trying to make time before, during or after work to get to the gym. I’m at the gym already, and it is hard to set the time aside!

I will say that I do enjoy exercising – this is part of the reason why I began to work in fitness in the first place. I try to get to Eliana’s Yoga on Tuesday afternoon at 1:00 pm, and Janet’s Power Yoga on Thursday at 10:30 am. In addition, I play hockey on Monday nights and sometimes Saturday mornings, and I try to work out with weights and perform cardio exercise 2 to 3 times each a week.

My bigger challenge is my food intake. I must admit, as I am getting older, my tastes have become richer! It’s harder now to ignore a cheese plate with fresh baguette, or when dining out, to choose the grilled chicken salad when there are braised short ribs and garlic mash on the menu.

My workout for the week is a “40-20” workout. Perform each exercise for 40 seconds, then rest for 20 seconds, then perform your next exercise until all of the exercises are completed. This is one round. Perform three rounds. The exercises I chose for this are pretty tough ones to perform; if you are beginning an exercise program, you may want to try some variations on them:

  1. Jump squats            
  2. Pushups      
  3. Mountain climbers
  4. Plank twists            
  5. Burpees     
  6. Squat Press
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

